Librarian
Guide Feedback
Did you find what you were looking for? Submit a Guide Feedback form to let us know what you liked or didn't like about this guide!
Analytical Chemistry
Databases & Web Links
- SensorsAn open-access, peer-reviewed journal on the science and technology of sensors
- ACS Publications: Journal of Chemical EducationFull-text publication of the Journal of Chemical Education from the American Chemical Society.
- SciFinderThe most authoritative resource for chemical information such as chemical structures, names, registry numbers, properties, and regulatory information. Includes current chemical reaction information and articles from chemistry journals, patents, dissertations, and more.
Books
Handbook of Green Analytical Chemistry by
The emerging field of green analytical chemistry is concerned with the development of analytical procedures that minimize consumption of hazardous reagents and solvents, and maximize safety for operators and the environment. In recent years there have been significant developments in methodological and technological tools to prevent and reduce the deleterious effects of analytical activities; key strategies include recycling, replacement, reduction and detoxification of reagents and solvents. The Handbook of Green Analytical Chemistry provides a comprehensive overview of the present state and recent developments in green chemical analysis. A series of detailed chapters, written by international specialists in the field, discuss the fundamental principles of green analytical chemistry and present a catalogue of tools for developing environmentally friendly analytical techniques. Topics covered include: Concepts: Fundamental principles, education, laboratory experiments and publication in green analytical chemistry. The Analytical Process: Green sampling techniques and sample preparation, direct analysis of samples, green methods for capillary electrophoresis, chromatography, atomic spectroscopy, solid phase molecular spectroscopy, derivative molecular spectroscopy and electroanalytical methods. Strategies: Energy saving, automation, miniaturization and photocatalytic treatment of laboratory wastes. Fields of Application: Green bioanalytical chemistry, biodiagnostics, environmental analysis and industrial analysis. This advanced handbook is a practical resource for experienced analytical chemists who are interested in implementing green approaches in their work.
ISBN: 9781119940944Publication Date: 2012-02-23
How to Use Excel in Analytical Chemistry and in General Scientific Data Analysis by ISBN: 0511040377Publication Date: 2001-01-01
Biochemistry
Databases and Web Links
- Chemical Entities of Biological Interest (ChEBI)Chemical Entities of Biological Interest (ChEBI) is a freely available dictionary of molecular entities focused on ‘small’ chemical compounds.
- National Center for Biotechnology InformationThe National Center for Biotechnology Information advances science and health by providing access to biomedical and genomic information.
- PubChemPubChem is the world's largest collection of freely accessible chemical information. Search chemicals by name, molecular formula, structure, and other identifiers. Find chemical and physical properties, biological activities, safety and toxicity information, patents, literature citations and more.
- SciFInderThe most authoritative resource for chemical information such as chemical structures, names, registry numbers, properties, and regulatory information. Includes current chemical reaction information and articles from chemistry journals, patents, dissertations, and more.
Books
Biochemistry Laboratory Manual for Undergraduates by
Biochemistry laboratory manual for undergraduates - an inquiry based approach by Gerczei and Pattison is the first textbook on the market that uses a highly relevant model, antibiotic resistance, to teach seminal topics of biochemistry and molecular biology while incorporating the blossoming field of bioinformatics. The novelty of this manual is the incorporation of a student-driven real real-life research project into the undergraduate curriculum. Since students test their own mutant design, even the most experienced students remain engaged with the process, while the less experienced ones get their first taste of biochemistry research. Inclusion of a research project does not entail a limitation: this manual includes all classic biochemistry techniques such as HPLC or enzyme kinetics and is complete with numerous problem sets relating to each topic.
ISBN: 9783110411331Publication Date: 2014-12-15
Inorganic Chemistry
Databases and Web Links
- Symmetry @ OtterbeinAn interactive website for exploring inorganic molecules
- Scifinder This link opens in a new windowThe most authoritative resource for chemical information such as chemical structures, names, registry numbers, properties, and regulatory information. Includes current chemical reaction information and articles from chemistry journals, patents, dissertations, and more.
- ACS Publications: Journal of Chemical Education This link opens in a new window
Full-text publication of the Journal of Chemical Education from the American Chemical Society.
- ChemSpider This link opens in a new window
ChemSpider is a free chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 100 million structures from hundreds of data sources. Search by chemical name, systematic name, synonym, trade name, registry number, SMILES or InChI and/or structures, and find related data including literature references, physical properties, interactive spectra, and chemical suppliers.
Books
Biological Inorganic Chemistry by
Biological Inorganic Chemistry: A New Introduction to Molecular Structure and Function, Second Edition, provides a comprehensive discussion of the biochemical aspects of metals in living systems. Beginning with an overview of metals and selected nonmetals in biology, the book then discusses the following concepts: basic coordination chemistry for biologists; structural and molecular biology for chemists; biological ligands for metal ions; intermediary metabolism and bioenergetics; and methods to study metals in biological systems. The book also covers metal assimilation pathways; transport, storage, and homeostasis of metal ions; sodium and potassium channels and pumps; magnesium phosphate metabolism and photoreceptors; calcium and cellular signaling; the catalytic role of several classes of mononuclear zinc enzymes; the biological chemistry of iron; and copper chemistry and biochemistry. In addition, the book discusses nickel and cobalt enzymes; manganese chemistry and biochemistry; molybdenum, tungsten, vanadium, and chromium; non-metals in biology; biomineralization; metals in the brain; metals and neurodegeneration; metals in medicine and metals as drugs; and metals in the environment.- Winner of a 2013 Textbook Excellence Awards (Texty) from the Text and Academic Authors Association- Readable style, complemented by anecdotes and footnotes- Enables the reader to more readily grasp the biological and clinical relevance of the subject- Color illustrations enable easy visualization of molecular mechanisms
ISBN: 9780444537836Publication Date: 2012-01-25
Principles of Inorganic Materials Design by
Learn the fundamentals of materials design with this all-inclusive approach to the basics in the field Study of materials science is an important aspect of curricula at universities worldwide. This text is designed to serve students at a fundamental level, positioning materials design as an essential aspect of the study of electronics, medicine, and energy storage. Now in its 3rd edition, Principles of Inorganic Materials Design is an introduction to relevant topics including inorganic materials structure/property relations and material behaviors. The new edition now includes chapters on computational materials science, intermetallic compounds, and covalent compounds. The text is meant to aid students in their studies by providing additional tools to study the key concepts and understand recent developments in materials research. In addition to the many topics covered, the textbook includes: * Accessible learning tools to help students better understand key concepts * Updated content including case studies and new information on computational materials science * Practical end-of-chapter exercises to assist students with the learning of the material * Short biographies introducing pioneers in the field of inorganic materials science For undergraduates just learning the material or professionals looking to brush up on their knowledge of current materials design information, this text covers a wide range of concepts, research, and topics to help round out their education. The foreword to the first edition was written by the 2019 Chemistry Nobel laureate Prof. John B. Goodenough.
ISBN: 9781119486916Publication Date: 2020-04-10
Organic Chemistry
Databases and Web Links
- Chemical ThesaurusA free chemical reaction database
- Open Reaction DatabaseThe Open Reaction Database (ORD) is an open-access schema and infrastructure for structuring and sharing organic reaction data,
- Organic Chemistry PortalA great site for organic chemistry information, including abstracts of recent articles and a searchable database of organic reactions.
- Nomenclature of Organic ChemistryOfficial guide for nomenclature of organic chemistry
- PubChem This link opens in a new window
PubChem is the world's largest collection of freely accessible chemical information. Search chemicals by name, molecular formula, structure, and other identifiers. Find chemical and physical properties, biological activities, safety and toxicity information, patents, literature citations and more.
Books
Organic Chemistry Study Guide by
Organic Chemistry Study Guide: Key Concepts, Problems, and Solutions features hundreds of problems from the companion book, Organic Chemistry, and includes solutions for every problem. Key concept summaries reinforce critical material from the primary book and enhance mastery of this complex subject.Organic chemistry is a constantly evolving field that has great relevance for all scientists, not just chemists. For chemical engineers, understanding the properties of organic molecules and how reactions occur is critically important to understanding the processes in an industrial plant. For biologists and health professionals, it is essential because nearly all of biochemistry springs from organic chemistry. Additionally, all scientists can benefit from improved critical thinking and problem-solving skills that are developed from the study of organic chemistry.Organic chemistry, like any "skill", is best learned by doing. It is difficult to learn by rote memorization, and true understanding comes only from concentrated reading, and working as many problems as possible. In fact, problem sets are the best way to ensure that concepts are not only well understood, but can also be applied to real-world problems in the work place.- Helps readers learn to categorize, analyze, and solve organic chemistry problems at all levels of difficulty- Hundreds of fully-worked practice problems, all with solutions- Key concept summaries for every chapter reinforces core content from the companion book
ISBN: 9780128018644Publication Date: 2014-11-04
Writing Reaction Mechanisms in Organic Chemistry by
Writing Reaction Mechanisms in Organic Chemistry, Second Edition, is an invaluable guide to charting the movements of atoms and electrons in the reactions of organic molecules. Miller and Solomon illustrate that understanding organic reactions is based on applying general principles rather than the rote memorization of unrelated processes, and, in turn, emphasize that writing mechanisms is a practical method of applying knowledge of previously encountered reactions and reaction conditions to new reactions. Students and research chemists alike will find this book useful in providing a method of organizing and synthesizing an oftentimes overwhelming quantity of information into a set of general principles and guidelines for determining and describing organic reaction mechanisms. llustrated with hundreds of chemical structures, all redrawn from the first edition, with addedemphasis on three-dimensional structures and stereochemical aspects of reaction mechanisms Extensively rewritten and reorganized to make the presentation and format more accessible to first-year organic chemistry students, as well as advanced undergraduate and graduate students Chapter 6 is completely revised to streamline the treatment of pericyclic reactions, while introducing the principles underlying the symmetry operations and orbital correlation diagrams New appendixes in this edition contain easily referenced information on Lewis structures, chemical symbols and notation, and relative acidities of common functional groups
ISBN: 9780080521336Publication Date: 1999-11-17
Practical Synthetic Organic Chemistry by
This book is a hands-on guide for the organic chemist. Focusing on the most reliable and useful reactions, the chapter authors provide the information necessary for a chemist to strategically plan a synthesis, as well as repeat the procedures in the laboratory. Consolidates all the key advances/concepts in one book, covering the most important reactions in organic chemistry, including substitutions, additions, eliminations, rearrangements, oxidations, reductions Highlights the most important reactions, addressing basic principles, advantages/disadvantages of the methodology, mechanism, and techniques for achieving laboratory success Features new content on recent advances in CH activation, photoredox and electrochemistry, continuous chemistry, and application of biocatalysis in synthesis Revamps chapters to include new and additional examples of chemistry that have been demonstrated at a practical scale
ISBN: 9781119448907Publication Date: 2020-02-06
Physical Chemistry
Databases and Web Links
- NIST Reference on Constants, Units, and UncertaintyOnline list of constants used in physical chemistry calculations, from the National Institute of Science and Technology
- Scifinder This link opens in a new windowThe most authoritative resource for chemical information such as chemical structures, names, registry numbers, properties, and regulatory information. Includes current chemical reaction information and articles from chemistry journals, patents, dissertations, and more.
- ACS Publications: Journal of Chemical Education This link opens in a new window
Full-text publication of the Journal of Chemical Education from the American Chemical Society.
Books
Quantities, Units and Symbols in Physical Chemistry by
The first IUPAC Manual of Symbols and Terminology for Physicochemical Quantities and Units (the Green Book) of which this is the direct successor, was published in 1969, with the object of 'securing clarity and precision, and wider agreement in the use of symbols, by chemists in different countries, among physicists, chemists and engineers, and by editors of scientific journals'. Subsequent revisions have taken account of many developments in the field, culminating in the major extension and revision represented by the 1988 edition under the simplified title Quantities, Units and Symbols in Physical Chemistry. This 2007, Third Edition, is a further revision of the material which reflects the experience of the contributors with the previous editions. The book has been systematically brought up to date and new sections have been added. It strives to improve the exchange of scientific information among the readers in different disciplines and across different nations. In a rapidly expanding volume of scientific literature where each discipline has a tendency to retreat into its own jargon this book attempts to provide a readable compilation of widely used terms and symbols from many sources together with brief understandable definitions. This is the definitive guide for scientists and organizations working across a multitude of disciplines requiring internationally approved nomenclature.
ISBN: 9781847557889Publication Date: 2007-10-31
Chemistry 2 by
Answers at your fingertips to the essentials of a subject that is challenging at best and that many students struggle with. The 6 page laminated guide focuses on physical chemistry with the details and structure of the subject organized and designed to be a key to the answers that are further supported by your texts and lectures. Use as a review before testing, or as a memory companion that keeps your mind focused on the whole course daily, weekly, or as needed before exams.Suggested uses:o Students - especially relevant for those majoring in engineering, science, or a health care related fieldo Quick Reference - instead of digging into the textbook to find a core answer you need while studying, use the guide to reinforce quickly and repeatedlyo Memory - refreshing your memory repeatedly is a foundation of studying, have the core answers handy so you can focus on understanding the conceptso Test Prep - no student should be cramming, but if you are, there is no better tool for that final review.
ISBN: 1423233689
