Librarian
Guide Feedback
Did you find what you were looking for? Submit a Guide Feedback form to let us know what you liked or didn't like about this guide!
Databases
Databases are excellent tools for finding useful sources. Databases are typically subject-specific and are curated collections of scholarly sources, like journal articles, books, conference proceedings, etc. Searching in a database is likely to yield relevant and authoritative results. The following databases are likely to be your best bets for finding relevant chemistry resources.
- ChemView: U.S. EPAUse this database to get information on chemical health and safety data received by EPA and EPA's assessments and regulatory actions for specific chemicals under the Toxic Substances Control Act (TSCA). ChemView contains no confidential business information (CBI).
- ACS Publications: Journal of Chemical Education This link opens in a new window
Full-text publication of the Journal of Chemical Education from the American Chemical Society.
- Scifinder This link opens in a new windowThe most authoritative resource for chemical information such as chemical structures, names, registry numbers, properties, and regulatory information. Includes current chemical reaction information and articles from chemistry journals, patents, dissertations, and more. You will need to register for an account the first time you use SciFinder.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowComprises over 26 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Produced by the (US) National Center for Biotechnology Information at the National Library of Medicine.
- ChemSpider This link opens in a new window
ChemSpider is a free chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 100 million structures from hundreds of data sources. Search by chemical name, systematic name, synonym, trade name, registry number, SMILES or InChI and/or structures, and find related data including literature references, physical properties, interactive spectra, and chemical suppliers.
Database Tips
Books
When you search the catalog for Chemistry resources, try using combinations of terms like these:
- polymers and syntheses
- sulfur compounds
- chemical structures and bonding
- thermal properties and material
Or try some of the titles below to get you started:
Dictionary of Chemistry by
Derived from the content of the respected McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms, Sixth Edition, each title provides thousands of definitions of words and phrases encountered in a specific discipline. All include: * Pronunciation guide for every term * Acronyms, cross-references, and abbreviations * Appendices with conversion tables; listings of scientific, technical, and mathematical notation; tables of relevant data; and more * A convenient, quick-find format
ISBN: 0071417974Publication Date: 2003-01-01
Greene's Protective Groups in Organic Synthesis by
An indispensable reference for any practicing synthetic organic or medicinal chemist, this book continues the tradition of Greene's as comprehensive in the overall scope of coverage, providing the most relevant and useful examples to illustrate each methodology. * Presents valuable material, on the application of protective groups in organic chemistry, that is not easily found by casual searching * Helps chemists to plan, investigate, and carry out organic syntheses in an efficient manner * Adds over 2800 new references to update since the publication of the last edition * Reviews of the prior edition: "An essential bible for the library or personal bookshelf of chemists performing complex synthesis." (CHOICE, May 2007) "...the most up-to-date compilation available...should be an integral part of all institutional libraries...it is also highly recommended that individuals...maintain their own copy..." (Journal of Medicinal Chemistry, March 8, 2007) "...continues to be a comprehensive guide to the techniques for the formation and cleavage of protective groups." (Journal of the American Chemical Society, January 31, 2007)
ISBN: 9781118905128Publication Date: 2014-08-08
Organic Chemistry Study Guide by
Organic Chemistry Study Guide: Key Concepts, Problems, and Solutions features hundreds of problems from the companion book, Organic Chemistry, and includes solutions for every problem. Key concept summaries reinforce critical material from the primary book and enhance mastery of this complex subject.Organic chemistry is a constantly evolving field that has great relevance for all scientists, not just chemists. For chemical engineers, understanding the properties of organic molecules and how reactions occur is critically important to understanding the processes in an industrial plant. For biologists and health professionals, it is essential because nearly all of biochemistry springs from organic chemistry. Additionally, all scientists can benefit from improved critical thinking and problem-solving skills that are developed from the study of organic chemistry.Organic chemistry, like any "skill", is best learned by doing. It is difficult to learn by rote memorization, and true understanding comes only from concentrated reading, and working as many problems as possible. In fact, problem sets are the best way to ensure that concepts are not only well understood, but can also be applied to real-world problems in the work place.- Helps readers learn to categorize, analyze, and solve organic chemistry problems at all levels of difficulty- Hundreds of fully-worked practice problems, all with solutions- Key concept summaries for every chapter reinforces core content from the companion book
ISBN: 9780128018644Publication Date: 2014-11-04
Web Resources
There are many good web resources available to help with your research, but searching for reliable sources this way can take more time. Here are some good starting points for web resources. You may encounter paywalls for articles when searching the web, but you can request free access through our Interlibrary Loan Form. If you have questions about access, check with a librarian before paying for information!
- Science.govA great place to go for government information covering any area of science. You'll find links to topics like Environment and Environmental Quality and Physics and Chemistry.
- CAS Common ChemistryCommon is a web resource that contains CAS Registry Numbers for approximately 7,900 chemicals of widespread general public interest.
- Organic Chemistry PortalA great site for organic chemistry information, including abstracts of recent articles and a searchable database of organic reactions.