Librarian
Search Terms
Here are some examples of search terms you can use to start out:
health policy SNAP program Americans with Disabilities Act
Tip
For data, check the Statistics page. You may also want to explore the Government, Policy, Legal, & Elections Guide for more ideas.
Databases
-
Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts and bibliographic citations for current research in social work, human services, and related areas such as social welfare, social policy, and community development. Does not contain full-text.
-
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
A demographic data visualization tool. Use Social Explorer's demographic data to examine trends, compare variables and time periods, and create reports, neighborhood profiles, and multivariable maps.
-
US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Prominent U.S. papers like the New York Times and the Wall Street Journal. It's also a good place to look for Star Tribune articles, with archives from 1986. Use the advanced search tab to limit to particular titles or dates.
Websites
-
Congress.govAn online database of United States congress information. Find bills by topic or number, track their status, and see related bills.
-
Congressional Service Reports on Domestic Social PolicyThese are reports on social policy topics made by the Congressional Research Service), which provides nonpartisan analysis to members of Congress. You can also search the entire collection of CSRs.
-
Kaiser Family FoundationKaiser is an independent research organization specializing in health policy. They provide interactive maps, polling, policy news, and the latest research.
-
NASW Advocacy IssuesThe issues that the National Association of Social Workers are currently advocating for in Congress.
-
Minnesota State LegislatureFind MN statutes, laws, and rules by searching or browsing by topic, or search for house and senate bills.
