Search Terms
Here are some examples of search terms you can use to start out:
family social work adolescent foster care child welfare
Tip
You may need to use a variety of search terms to find all the available information for a given age group. For example, consider using "adolescent OR teen OR teenager OR youth OR young adult" to find research about teenagers.
Databases
-
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowProvides abstracts and citations for international research in sociology, social work, and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Covers current research on sociology, social work, urban studies, social welfare, social policy, community development, and more. Indexes articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and working papers. Does not contain full-text.
-
Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts and bibliographic citations for current research in social work, human services, and related areas such as social welfare, social policy, and community development. Does not contain full-text.
-
ERIC This link opens in a new window
The definitive resource for journal articles, books, government documents, theses, dissertations, and other literature on all aspects of education at all levels. Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education.
Websites
-
UNICEFUNICEF advocates for children's rights worldwide. Learn about programs and read publications on topics ranging from child protection and education to health and immunization.
-
International Journal of Child, Youth, and Family ServicesThe International Journal of Child, Youth and Family Studies (IJCYFS) is a peer-reviewed, open access, interdisciplinary, cross-national journal that is committed to scholarly excellence in the field of research about and services for children, youth, their families, and communities.
-
Child TrendsChild Trends is the leading research organization in the United States focused solely on improving the lives of children, youth, and families. Find reports and statistics about many aspects of child and family services.
