Librarian
Guide Feedback
Did you find what you were looking for? Submit a Guide Feedback form to let us know what you liked or didn't like about this guide!
Best Bets
The following sources books, databases, and web resources are good places to search for a wide variety of topics in health, physical education, and exercise science. They are likely to help you get ideas for your research topic and find information once you've chosen a topic. As you narrow your research, you can find more sources by navigating the topic tabs on the left hand side of the page.
Databases
-
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary database containing full-text for thousands of journals in nearly every subject area, including: computer science, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more.
-
PubMed This link opens in a new windowComprises over 26 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Produced by the (US) National Center for Biotechnology Information at the National Library of Medicine.
-
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
The APA's abstract and indexing database which provides bibliographic information for thousands of social and behavioral journals, books, book chapters, and dissertations dating back to the 17th and 18th centuries. Full-text not included.
-
Consumer Health Complete This link opens in a new window
Designed for the everyday health care consumer, CHC provides access to easily understandable health and medical information found in medical encyclopedias, popular reference books, and magazine articles.
Web Resources
-
American Council on ExerciseThe "Get Fit" section of this site includes an exercise library explaining exercises step by step, fact sheets, research and studies, fitness tools and calculators, and more.
-
Physical Activity – Centers for Disease ControlLook here for information on national physical activity initiatives: reports and recommendations, policy and legislation, data, tools for promoting physical activity, and more.
-
National Collegiate Athletic AssociationFind information about college sports, including rules, statistics, records, and policies, as well as research on topics like student-athlete substance abuse, diversity, and gender equality.
-
PEDro Physiotherapy Evidence DatabasePEDro is a free database of trials, reviews, and guidelines evaluating physiotherapy interventions.
-
Oxford Dictionary of Sports Science and MedicineThis dictionary provides definitions for terms used in sports science and medicine; a useful guide for coaches, athletes, students of physical education, and medical specialists.
