Librarian
Guide Feedback
Did you find what you were looking for? Submit a Guide Feedback form to let us know what you liked or didn't like about this guide!
Citation Guidance
Citation is an important step in your research process. Adding citations to your work helps you avoid plagiarism, provides credibility for the claims in your paper, and shows the reader where they can learn more. APA is the most common citation style for nursing research, but always double check your assignment or ask your instructor if you have questions about which citation style to use. Below, you'll find some useful resources for citing in APA style.
If you want more information about citations, check out our Citation Guide or contact your librarian for questions.
- APA Manual - Print BookLink to library catalog listing
- APA Style Guide OnlineThe online APA style guide is an easily accessible, definitive source for APA citations.
- Purdue OWLPurdue OWL has tips and formatting examples for in-text references and reference pages in APA format.
Writing Help
Writing an academic paper can be challenging. Check out the resources below for writing resources, or book an appointment with the Writing Center for in-depth help.
- Writing Center at UNC Chapel HillThe UNC Chapel Hill Writing Center provides tips for vocabulary, grammar, pronunciation, and classroom communication.
- Purdue OWLOne of the most widely recommended writing resources, Purdue OWL provides tips for avoiding plagiarism and writing in your subject.
- American Journal of NursingProvides tips for writing and publishing nursing articles
A Nurse's Step-by-Step Guide to Writing a Dissertation or Scholarly Project by
Feeling overwhelmed by the mere thought of writing your dissertation or scholarly project? Wondering how to begin and where to find the time? You are not alone. Earning your advanced degree is an extraordinary accomplishment, but completing those final stages can be a daunting task. A Nurse's Step-By-Step Guide to Writing a Dissertation or Scholarly Project, Third Edition, is a straightforward how-to guide. This book is intentionally concise because, let's be honest, the last thing a busy candidate needs is another unwieldy, doorstop-sized book. Packed with practical steps and tools, this fully updated third edition will help you plan, document, organize, and write your dissertation or scholarly project. Don't go it alone; let author and fellow dissertation survivor Karen Roush help you get from square one to DONE. --back cover.
ISBN: 9781646480678Publication Date: 2023
Academic Writing and Referencing for Your Nursing Degree by
Invaluable jargon-free guide for anyone doing a nursing degree, providing study support and helping you to improve your academic writing and referencing skills. Academic Writing and Referencing for your Nursing Degree provides you with a sound knowledge and understanding of: what constitutes good academic writing in nursing a range of strategies for writing successful essays and reports the importance of clarity and coherence in your writing about nursing how to improve your academic style, grammar and punctuation, and formatting and presentation referencing conventions in the field of nursing, and of how to avoid plagiarism. If you are embarking on a university nursing degree, the books in our Critical Study Skills for Nursing series will help you acquire and develop the knowledge, skills and strategies you need to achieve your goals. They provide support in all areas important for university study, including institutional and disciplinary policy and practice, self-management, and research and communication. Tasks and activities are designed to foster aspects of learning which are valued in higher education, including learner autonomy and critical thinking, and to guide you towards reflective practice in your study and work life.
ISBN: 9781911106982Publication Date: 2017-07-26
Writing for Publication in Nursing and Healthcare by
Writing for Publication in Nursing and Healthcare helps readers develop the skills necessary for publishing in professional journals, presenting conference papers, authoring books, research reports, and literature reviews, and more. This comprehensive resource covers all aspects of writing for publication, including good practice in reviewing, the editorial process, ethical aspects of publishing, and the rules that govern academic writing, publishing, and dissemination. Assuming no prior expertise in the subject, the text uses an accessible, step-by-step approach that incorporates a wealth of real-life examples, hands-on activities, and valuable tips throughout. The second edition reflects the latest developments, guidelines, and practices both in academic publishing and in research assessment and dissemination. New and updated material covers the increasing use of social media to disseminate published work, post-publication scrutiny, contemporary issues surrounding predatory or unethical publishers, and new requirements for research registration and submission data. Edited by leading experts in the field, this practical 'how to' guide: Describes the basics of writing for publication and how to get started Includes numerous examples illustrating the practical ways abstracts, papers, book reviews, and other publications are written and disseminated Discusses current issues and developments, such as the impact of major ethics organisations on publishing worldwide and the rise of online journals, blogging, and podcasting Features contributions by internationally recognised academics and practitioners Explains how to turn research reports and other assignments into publishable works The definitive introduction to the subject, Writing for Publication in Nursing and Healthcare is a must-have for all nurses and healthcare professionals, as well as undergraduate and graduate students in nursing and healthcare programs who are required to write for publication.
ISBN: 9781119583592Publication Date: 2021-03-19
Literature Review Tools
The literature review process can be intimidating. You may have questions about how and where to search for relevant literature, how to keep track of your findings, and how to structure your literature review as you write. Below, you'll find a few tools that will help you understand the literature review process and assist you with keeping track of your research findings.
Literature Search Strategy Template
From Prospero. This table helps you organize before and during the search stage. Keep track of what search terms you've tried, what databases you've searched, and any criteria for including or excluding studies.
Research and Synthesis Table Templates
From the David L. Rice Library at the University of Southern Indiana. This table template helps organize studies as you find them, allowing you to keep track of articles and their major findings in order to synthesize them in your literature review.