Librarian
Guide Feedback
Did you find what you were looking for? Submit a Guide Feedback form to let us know what you liked or didn't like about this guide!
Call Numbers
Browsing books can be a useful activity in your research. You may find ideas for research topics based on titles you find as you browse, or you may find research sources that are more in-depth than an article or web resource. Lindell Library's books are sorted by topic. You will find suggested titles for various topics on this guide, and you can also search the library shelves using the call numbers listed below.
Subject Call Number
Biology (General) QH 301-705.5
Biochemistry QD 415-436
Ecology QH 540-549.5
Botany QK 1-989
Zoology QL 1-991
Human Anatomy QM 1-695
Microbiology QR 1 -502
Having trouble locating the shelves or a particular title? Ask a librarian for help!
Reference Books
A Dictionary of Biology
Fully revised and updated, this fourth edition is the perfect guide for those studying biology, either at school or university. Containing many new entries, and now with biographical entries on key scientists, it provides comprehensive coverage of biology, biophysics, and biochemistry. -- Over 4,000 clear and concise entries -- New entries include heat-shock protein, zinc finger, integrated pest management, and oxidative burst -- Feature articles on important topics, such as genetically modified organisms -- Chronologies chart the discoveries in the main fields of the subject
ISBN: 9780192801029Publication Date: 2000-05-18
Concise Illustrated Dictionary of Biocontrol Terms by
The Concise Illustrated Dictionary of Biocontrol Terms includes basic terminology related to the biological control of pests, together with state-of-the-art scientific and practical terms, for expedient comprehension and analysis of present, forecasted or in situ pest management problems. In addition, it also provides the names of the most common pesticides and predators commercially available in different continents (Americas, Europe, Asia, Australia, Africa), as well as target pests and diseases of these agents, making it a tangible tool for prompt management actions. The dictionary is copiously illustrated with original pictures clarifying the most commonly used terms and the identity of organisms in biocontrol technology, with content that is both scientifically rigorous and clear.The biological control of pests using living organisms, or products from their activities, is an independent branch of science based on multiple disciplines including general biology, zoology, entomology, phytopathology, microbiology and others. As a result, the field of biological control has its own specific terminology that needs to be understood and applied correctly across this variety of disciplines, including among those approaching the field from a different area of expertise and who may have difficulty understanding the terms used by experts in the field.This compact illustrated guide will appeal to the scientific community working in integrated pest management disciplines, as well as those researching, studying, and working with interest in protecting natural resources at a global, local, and individual level, in a variety of locations including the lab, garden, field, or forest.- Enables understanding of the terminology used in biological control for professionals, researchers and students in a variety of scientific fields- Features clear images and photographs to help identify insects and pathogens- Ideal for in situ use in both the lab and field pest management protocols
ISBN: 9780128498989Publication Date: 2015-11-06
