Librarian
Guide Feedback
Did you find what you were looking for? Submit a Guide Feedback form to let us know what you liked or didn't like about this guide!
Why Use a Database?
Databases are a great tool to use after you have listed keywords and ready to look for articles or other sources closely related to your topic. The databases listed below are specific to the biology field, meaning that you can be relatively confident of finding information related to your research topic without having to filter out other results. You can also search general databases and explore options on the library's complete Database List. If you have questions about how to navigate databases, don't hesitate to contact your subject librarian.
Database List
-
GreenFILE This link opens in a new windowA collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles including content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. Useful for searching environmental biology and ecology topics.
-
PubMed This link opens in a new windowComprises over 26 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. This database is a best bet for health or human biology-related research topics.
Produced by the (US) National Center for Biotechnology Information at the National Library of Medicine. -
Science Direct This link opens in a new windowScience Direct is a leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from nearly 2,500 journals and 26,000 books. You can search across different topics in life sciences, physical sciences, medical research, and the humanities.
-
Science Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Full-text for hundreds of science magazines, journals, encyclopedias, and reference books, plus a vast collection of images and videos. This database is good for a wide variety of topics in the biology field.