Finding books
Lindell Library has an extensive collection of ebooks and print books covering all aspects of music therapy, from descriptions of specific therapies to their use in the treatment of various patient groups and a wide array of physical and mental health conditions. A few of the most important books are listed in this guide, but you can locate thousands more books by searching our catalog using the search box below, or searching the ebook collections listed at the bottom of this page.
Enter the search terms music therapy in the box below to locate books owned at Lindell.
If music therapy yields too many results or if you're looking for books on more specific applications of therapeutic methods, try narrowing your search by adding other terms such as:
- music therapy methods
- music therapy children
- music therapy older people
- music therapy disabilities
PRO TIP #1: The phrase Held by Augsburg University means Lindell Library owns the book.
PRO TIP #2: If you find a book that looks interesting but it doesn't say Held by Augsburg University, don't worry, you can still request it through our Interlibrary Loan service. It'll just take longer for you to get it.
PRO TIP #3: For ebooks, click the "Read Online" button so that others can access the book at the same time. If you choose "Download Book", no one else will be able to read it while you have it downloaded.
Core Titles
Introduction to Music Therapy Practice by
Call Number: ebook; print also available at ML3920 .H45 2018, Shelved in LC Circulating CollectionISBN: 9781945411304Publication Date: 2018An overview of 21st century music therapy clinical practice, structured around the ways music therapists engage clients in music experiences: re-creating, composing, improvising and active listening. The forty-eight case illustrations represent diverse client populations and demonstrate how the music therapist adapts the method to meet the unique needs and interests of clients.
Defining Music Therapy (3rd Edition) by Call Number: ebookISBN: 9781937440589Publication Date: 2014Aims to conceptualize music therapy in a critically inclusive and integrative way.
Developments in Music Therapy Practice by Call Number: ebookISBN: 9781891278761Publication Date: 2011Presents 34 case studies from around the world, representing a broad range of clinical orientations. Various models of music therapy are also represented, including Guided Imagery and Music, Analytic Music Therapy, Behavioral Music Therapy and Nordoff-Robbins Music Therapy.
Music Therapy Handbook by Call Number: ML3920 .M89776 2015, Shelved in LC Circulating CollectionISBN: 9781462518036Publication Date: 2015Provides a comprehensive overview of music therapy, from basic concepts to emerging clinical approaches. Experts review psychodynamic, humanistic, cognitive-behavioral, and developmental foundations and describe major techniques, including the Nordoff-Robbins model and the Bonny Method of Guided Imagery and Music.
Music Therapy Research, 3rd ed by Call Number: ML3920 .M8996 2016, Shelved in LC Circulating CollectionISBN: 9781937440893Publication Date: 2016An introduction to the nature of music therapy research and its relation to theory and practice. Outlines the foundations and principles of objectivist and interpretivist paradigms. Individual chapters examine every type, method, and design of research used in music therapy.
Guidelines for Music Therapy Practice in Pediatric Care by Call Number: ebookISBN: 9781937440480Publication Date: 2013Includes chapters on numerous populations and/or areas of care such as premature infants or pain management. Practical guidelines are provided for implementing receptive, improvisational, re-creative, and compositional methods of music therapy with each client group.
Guidelines for Music Therapy Practice in Mental Health by Call Number: ebookISBN: 9781937440466Publication Date: 2013Provides guidelines for implementing receptive, improvisational, re-creative, and compositional methods of music therapy for children, adolescents, and adults with mental health concerns, including those with or without formal diagnoses, or who are receiving care in various settings.
Guidelines for Music Therapy Practice in Adult Medical Care by Call Number: ebookISBN: 9781937440510Publication Date: 2013Provides guidelines for implementing receptive, improvisational, re-creative, and compositional methods of music therapy with patients in various medical units, during diverse procedures, with various medical diseases and disorders.
Guidelines for Music Therapy Practice in Developmental Health by Call Number: ebookISBN: 9781937440459Publication Date: 2013Provides guidelines for implementing receptive, improvisational, re-creative, and compositional methods of music therapy with individuals of various ages and abilities who have developmental concerns.
Handbook of Neurologic Music Therapy by Call Number: ebookISBN: 9781322221410Publication Date: 2014Neurologic Music Therapy (NMT) was developed for people suffering from cognitive, sensory, or motor dysfunctions arising from neurological diseases of the nervous system. Twenty clinical techniques are described in detail with specific exercises, illustrations, and background information regarding research and clinical diagnoses.
Introduction to Music Therapy Research by Call Number: ebookISBN: 9781945411137Publication Date: 2016An introductory overview of how research has been conceived and implemented in music therapy over the last several decades. The book was designed for those who are beginning their studies in music therapy research.
Ebook collections
- eBook Central This link opens in a new windowA growing collection of more than one million titles from over 750 publishers.
- EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
A huge collection of eBooks, including some reference books. Searchable by title, author, and subject.
- Gale ebooks This link opens in a new windowSearch thousands of electronic reference books on every subject from leading publishers. Search all titles simultaneously or browse titles by collection.