Searching databases for journal articles
If you're looking for journal articles, conference papers, reports, or book chapters, you'll need to search one or more of our many databases. Music therapy is an interdisciplinary field, meaning that its research interests overlap with disciplines as diverse as psychology, social work, nursing, medicine (both traditional and alternative), education, and of course music.
While there are no databases devoted exclusively to music therapy literature, Lindell Library subscribes to dozens of databases that cover music therapy as well as related disciplines. A handful of the most significant ones are listed under "Core Databases" below. Other discipline-specific databases have been grouped under the headings of education, medicine / health / psychology, and music databases.
You can search our databases using the search box below, or scroll a little farther down and click on any one of the subject-specific databases to search it directly.
Core Databases
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new windowA multi-disciplinary database containing full-text for thousands of journals in nearly every subject area, including: computer science, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more.
- APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
The APA's comprehensive social and behavioral sciences database which delivers full-text, peer-reviewed articles. Updates twice weekly to ensure access to cutting-edge research and includes coverage dating back to 1894.
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
CINAHL, the Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature, offers full-text articles in fields such as nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and other allied health disciplines.
- ERIC This link opens in a new window
The definitive resource for journal articles, books, government documents, theses, dissertations, and other literature on all aspects of education at all levels. Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education.
- PsychiatryOnline This link opens in a new windowA collection of psychiatric resources such as the DSM-5 titles, journals, textbooks, practice guidelines, self-assessment tools, clinical and research news, and medication information handouts from American Psychiatric Publishing.
- PTSDpubs This link opens in a new window
This database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. It provides citations and abstracts to the international literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental health sequelae of traumatic events.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowComprises over 26 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Produced by the (US) National Center for Biotechnology Information at the National Library of Medicine.
- RILM Abstracts of Music Literature This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive guide to music publications around the world. Indexes journals, conference proceedings, and Festschriften on music, dance, and the performing arts. Coverage dates back to the 18th and 19th centuries.
Education Databases
- ERIC This link opens in a new window
- Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window
- ProQuest Education Journals This link opens in a new window
Medicine / Health / Psychology Databases
- Alt HealthWatch This link opens in a new window
- APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
- HealthSource: Nursing/Academic This link opens in a new window
- PsychiatryOnline This link opens in a new window
- PTSDpubs This link opens in a new window
- Public Health & Social Care Collection This link opens in a new window
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
- Science Direct This link opens in a new window
- Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Music Databases
- RILM Abstracts of Music Literature This link opens in a new window
- Music Online (Alexander Street) This link opens in a new window
- Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
- Naxos Music Library World This link opens in a new window