Librarian
Guide Feedback
Did you find what you were looking for? Submit a Guide Feedback form to let us know what you liked or didn't like about this guide!
Search Terms & Tips
Here are some examples of basic search terms you can use to start out:
cognitive development children bipolar disorder adolescent older people psychology
Tip
You may need to try a variety of search terms for the age group you're researching. For example, if you are searching for information about adolescents, try searching "adolescents OR teenagers OR teens OR young adults". If you are searching for information about older adults, try "older adults OR elderly OR senior citizens OR gerontology".
Databases
-
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
The APA's abstract and indexing database which provides bibliographic information for thousands of social and behavioral journals, books, book chapters, and dissertations dating back to the 17th and 18th centuries. Full-text not included.
-
APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
The APA's comprehensive social and behavioral sciences database which delivers full-text, peer-reviewed articles. Updates twice weekly to ensure access to cutting-edge research and includes coverage dating back to 1894.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles on most academic topics, often spanning the entire run of academic journals.
Websites
-
National Institute of Child Health and Human DevelopmentNICHD’s mission is to lead research and training to understand human development, improve reproductive health, enhance the lives of children and adolescents, and optimize abilities for all.
-
Center on the Developing ChildFind working papers, webinars, policy insights, and more from Harvard's Center on the Developing Child. Browse by topics such as brain architecture, mental health, racism, water quality, and many more.
-
CDC - Adolescent HealthLook here for information and resources on youth health topics, many involving psychologies.
-
Office on Aging - APAThe APA provides information and publications on aging and geropsychology (psychology focused on older adults), covering depression, suicide, memory, anxiety, and more.
-
Glossary of Aging-Related TermsGet definitions and ideas for search terms for aging-related topics.