Librarian
Guide Feedback
Did you find what you were looking for? Submit a Guide Feedback form to let us know what you liked or didn't like about this guide!
Search Terms
Use the databases and websites listed on this page to find information about clinical psychology topics, assessments, and mental health diagnoses and disorders. Try some of the search terms below to get started:
psychotherapy psychological assessment depression cognitive behavioral therapy
PICO
Clinical psychology research topics may benefit from using the PICO technique to formulate search terms. PICO is an acronym that stands for Population, Intervention, Comparison, Outcome; defining these elements helps narrow your topic and generate search term ideas. Check out the Nursing guide for more information about PICO.
Databases
-
DSM-5-TR (Diagnostic And Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, Text Revision) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive resource used by health professionals, social workers, and forensic and legal specialists to diagnose mental health disorders in a variety of clinical settings. -
PsychiatryOnline This link opens in a new windowA collection of psychiatric resources such as the DSM-5 titles, journals, textbooks, practice guidelines, self-assessment tools, clinical and research news, and medication information handouts from American Psychiatric Publishing.
-
PTSDpubs This link opens in a new window
This database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. It provides citations and abstracts to the international literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental health sequelae of traumatic events.
-
PubMed This link opens in a new windowComprises over 26 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Produced by the (US) National Center for Biotechnology Information at the National Library of Medicine.
Websites
-
Test FinderSearchable database (compiled by San Diego State University) for locating known assessment instruments.
-
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services AdministrationThe Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) is the agency within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) that leads public health efforts to advance the behavioral health of the nation and to improve the lives of individuals living with mental and substance use disorders, and their families.
-
Buros Center for TestingProfessional standards, codes and guidelines that address testing and assessment practices in the profession
-
Mental Health on Medline PlusMedlinePlus provides A-Z health information for the public. For each condition or disorder, the site provides an overview of symptoms, treatment, and current research including statistics