Databases & Journals
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary database containing full-text for thousands of journals in nearly every subject area, including: computer science, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles on most academic topics, often spanning the entire run of academic journals.
- Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Provides overviews and point/counterpoint arguments on hundreds of current issues. Includes essays from leading newspapers and magazines across the political spectrum, radio and TV news transcripts, primary source documents, and reference books.
- Analytic PhilosophyAnalytic Philosophy is a peer-reviewed journal publishing work in all areas of philosophy. The journal welcomes original research articles, book symposia, and critical notices as well as discussions and other sorts of philosophical pieces.
- Open PhilosophyOpen Philosophy is an international Open Access, peer-reviewed academic journal covering all areas of philosophy. The objective of Open Philosophy is to foster free exchange of ideas and provide an appropriate platform for presenting, discussing and disseminating new concepts, current trends, theoretical developments and research findings related to the broadest philosophical spectrum. The journal does not favour any particular philosophical school, perspective or methodology.
- Religious StudiesReligious Studies is an international journal devoted to the problems of the philosophy of religion as they arise out of classical and contemporary discussions and from varied religious traditions.
Search Strategies
You can find relevant materials by using a number of different keywords. When searching through databases, try out multiple keywords to see what gets you the results you want. Using " " around phrases with multiple words will keep concepts together (so you don't get results that only include "critical" or "race", for example).
Search Term Suggestions:
philosophy of ____ existentialism ethics "19th-century philosophy"
You can pair these keywords with the specific topic of your research using the connector AND:
ethics AND "the justice system" philosophy of health care
Don't be discouraged if you don't find exactly what you want on the first try. Searching often takes many iterations of keywords to get right. Try it out for yourself below!
Books
The Feminist Philosophy Reader by Call Number: HQ1190 .B345 2008ISBN: 9780073407395Publication Date: 2007-08-24The most comprehensive anthology of feminist philosophy available, this first edition reader brings together over 55 of the most brilliant, influential, and time-tested works to have been published in the field of feminist philosophy. Featuring perspectives from across the philosophical spectrum, and from an array of different cultural vantage points, it displays the incredible range, diversity, and depth of feminist writing on fundamental issues, from the early second wave to the present.
Encyclopedia of Philosophy by ISBN: 9780028657806Publication Date: 2005-12-16Since 1967, the Encyclopedia of Philosophy, described by Booklist as the best and most comprehensive English-language reference source for philosophy, has been the cornerstone of the philosophy reference shelf. Lauded for its clear and accessible presentation of wide-ranging philosophical subjects, the Encyclopedia has earned its place as a first-stop resource for general readers, students and educators. A Supplement to the first edition was released to critical acclaim in 1996. A new and updated edition of this multivolume set -- the first comprehensive new edition in almost 40 years -- has been compiled under the close guidance of a 21-member board of scholars headed by Donald Borchert (Ohio University). Containing material from hundreds of highly distinguished contributors representing the worlds top universities and institutions, the second edition has a truly global perspective.
African American Philosophers and Philosophy by Call Number: B944.A37 M33 2019ISBN: 9781350057951Publication Date: 2019-06-13This book presents the first introduction to African American academic philosophers, exploring their concepts and ideas and revealing the critical part they have played in the formation of philosophy in the USA. The book begins with the early years of educational attainment by African American philosophers in the 1860s. To demonstrate the impact of their philosophical work on general problems in the discipline, chapters are broken down into four major areas of study: Axiology, Social Science, Philosophy of Religion and Philosophy of Science. Providing personal narratives on individual philosophers and examining the work of figures such as H. T. Johnson, William D. Johnson, Joyce Mitchell Cooke, Adrian Piper, William R. Jones, Roy D. Morrison, Eugene C. Holmes, and William A. Banner, the book challenges the myth that philosophy is exclusively a white academic discipline. Packed with examples of struggles and triumphs, this engaging introduction is a much-needed approach to studying philosophy today.
