Librarian
Databases & Websites
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowA bit difficult to search, but worth the effort. It is particularly useful in researching Minnesota's 19th and early 20th century past.
- Minnesota Magazine of History: Index and Full TextThis "mostly" full-text database provides the best access to the backfiles of Minnesota History. The full text for the last five years are not available online but are available in the library.
- MNopediaMNopedia is an online encyclopedia about Minnesota created by the Minnesota Historical Society
- Minnesota ReflectionsMinnesota Reflections is a treasure trove of resources pertaining to Minnesota history. You'll find more than 52,000 images and documents from nearly 200 cultural heritage organizations across the state.
Historyapolis Project
Historyapolis is an ongoing project supported by the Augsburg History Department. Since 2014, student, faculty, and community researchers have worked together to research and share the history of Minneapolis. Historyapolis supports:
- A local history guide that is an excellent resource that outlines what's available in archives and special collections across the city.
- A Map Monday series that highlights maps in collaboration with the Borchert Map Library
- The Mapping Prejudice project, which documents racial restrictions attached to Minneapolis property records during the 20th century.
- A stories section that highlights lesser-known parts of the city's history.
Newspapers
These open-source databases of full-text newspapers are a rich source of information on American history.
- Winona Newspaper ProjectThe Winona Newspaper project includes the full text for the following newspapers: The Winona Argus; The Winona Daily Republican; The Winona Republican-Herald; The Winona Daily News. Coverage ranges from the late nineteenth century to the early twentieth century.
- Daily Globe (Saint Paul, Minn.) 1880-1884The Daily Globe, The St. Paul Daily Globe and the St. Paul Globe all provide coverage of local, state, national and international events. Searching the Globe, the Daily Globe, and the St. Paul Globe is clunky!
- The Minneapolis Labor ReviewThis searchable archive includes all issues of the Labor Review published from April 1907 through May 2004. If you are researching labor history in Minneapolis or in Minnesota-you must search this newspaper!
- FocusPointNewspaper for the LGBTQ community in the Twin Cities from 1994-1997.
Books
North Country : The Making of Minnesota by Call Number: F606 .W56 2010North Country examines the relations between the Europeans and Native people from contact through the 1862 conflict, in the Great Lake Region and the land the became Minnesota. This book has excellent illustrations!
Creating Minnesota : A History From the Inside Out by Call Number: F606 .A87 2007Using stories, Creating Minnesota, provides a fresh new look at Minnesota History.
They Chose Minnesota by Call Number: F615.A1 T45Excellent resource to being your research on European immigration in Minnesota. For resources on Non-European immigration the People of Minnesota Series (http://augsburg.worldcat.org/search?qt=hotseries&q=se%3A%22People+of+Minnesota.%22 )
A Popular History of MinnesotaCall Number: F606 .R58 2005Publication Date: 2005This is an excellent narrative history of Minnesota- Reference Guide to Minnesota History: A subject Bibliography of Books, Pamphlets and Articles by Call Number: Reference F606 .A1 B76Even though this bibliography was compiled in 1974, its topical approach still makes it an excellent starting point for you research in Minnesota History.
- Other Minnesota History TitlesYou also might want to consult these other general histories of Minnesota: Folwell's History of Minnesota (F606 .F677 1956) AND Blegen's History of Minnesota
- Women in Minnesota History, 1915-1990 : An Annotated Bibliography of Articles Pertaining to WomenCall Number: Reference HQ1438.M6 P35 1991
- Minnesota in the Civil WarSee the links on the sidebar on the right under "Minnesota History Topics for lists of secondary and primary sources on Minnesota's role in the Civil War.
- Then Nonpartisan League 1915-1922: An Annotated Bibliogrpahy by Call Number: HD 1485 N4 C64 1985Publication Date: 1985The guide is very useful for locating primary sources and secondary sources on the Nonpartisan League. Be aware, everything might not be locally available!
Web Resources
- Gubernatorial Addresses to the Minnesota Legislature: 1857-PresentSelected Inaugural addressees, "State of the State" addresses, and selected special messages to the Legislature by Minnesota governors.
- Hennepin County Library Special Collections - Minneapolis CollectionLocated on the fourth floor of the downtown-Minneapolis ibrary, HCLib Special Collections include lots of primary sources about planning in Minneapolis, including the records of planning departments, the Park Board, and the local Model Cities program. Look for their impressive urban-renewal collection, one of the nation's largest &8213; for building permit index cards; and for digital maps and atlases.
- Minnesota Digital Library Primary Source SetsA group of primary source collections that focus on topics relevant to Minnesota history.
- Minnesota Legislators Past & PresentMinnesota Legislators Past & Present is the only comprehensive list of legislators who have served in the Minnesota Legislature since territorial times. This is a work in progress.
- Ramsey County Historical SocietyThe independent, nonprofit Ramsey County Historical Society, representing one of the three oldest counties in Minnesota, has more than 6,000 images online; go to their online collections database to jump in. Keyword searches by street names are a good way to start.
Minnesota Historical Society Links.
The Minnesota Historical Society has created online excellent descriptions of their collections and in some instances digitized an entire collection. This page contains links to those descriptions and collections. This is just a sampling of what is available at the Society!
- Minnesota History TopicsNeed help picking a topic? This is a link to to over fifty Minnesota History related topics. Each entry contains brief description of the topic and and a list of suggested sources.
- Minnesota Historical Society Visual Resource DatabaseThis is a database of the Historical Society's vast photograph and art collection.
- Minnesota Historical Society CollectionsThis link connects you to the vast online resources of the Minnesota Historical Society.
- Immigrant Oral HistoriesImmigrant Oral Histories presents a collection of over 250 oral history interviews conducted between 1975 and 2004 with recent immigrants to Minnesota and their American-born children.
- Governors of MinnesotaThis site contains biographical sketches of Minnesota's governors and information about the the office of the governor.
- Oral HistoryThis is a guide to the Oral History Collections at the Minnesota Historical Society. The collection's contents range from interviews with polka band members to medical device pioneers.