Medieval History
Learn how to use Chicago/Turabian style
Need more help managing your Citations? Use a citation manager!
Learn MoreMeet one-on-one
with a reference librarian
We can help you:
Find or narrow a paper topic,
locate appropriate sources,
and more.
Email refdesk@augsburg.edu for an appointment
Librarian
Databases
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary database containing full-text for thousands of journals in nearly every subject area, including: computer science, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles on most academic topics, often spanning the entire run of academic journals.
No full text? Click "Find It" by the article to get it elsewhere, or to order it.
Find a Topic
The Oxford Dictionary of the Middle Ages by Call Number:Click the Title to Access OnlineThis resource coverts archaeology, architecture, art, church historoy, medicine, law, languages, locations, and literature.MIddle Ages Reference Library by
Call Number:Click the Title to Access OnlinePublication Date: 2001Covers the different civilizations and peoples of Medieval times; includes biographical essays on significant individuals of the era and it includes primary sources.
Encyclopedia of Society and Culture in the Medieval World by Call Number:Library First Flood - Reference Collection: CB351 .E53 2008This is a good source for starting comparative research as it includes information on Europe, Asia, the Islamic world, and the Americas.
Trade, Travel, and Exploration in the Middle agesCall Number:Library Third Floor: HF1001 .T7 2000The peoples, places, technologies, and intellectual concepts that contributed to trade, travel, and exploration during the Middle Ages.
The Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium by Call Number:Click the Title to Access OnlinePublication Date: 1991"A three-volume, comprehensive dictionary of Byzantine civilization...[that] features over 5,000 entries written by an international group of eminent Byzantinists covering all aspects of life in the Byzantine world."
Primary Sources
- Artstor This link opens in a new windowImages from the world's leading museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists. Subjects include anthropology, archaeology, architecture, art history, fashion and costume, literature, religion, theater, world history, and more. All images are rights-cleared for educational use.
- Avalon ProjectA collection of primary source documents made available from Yale and organized by century.
- Digital BodleianDigitized resources from the Bodleian Library at Oxford.
- Digitized Manuscripts at the British LibraryGet access to fully digitized manuscripts held at the British Library and their descriptions
- EuroDocs | Medieval and Renaissance EuropeA wealth of online sources for European history, with links to facsimiles and transcriptions. Arranged by collection, but you can use the search box to good advantage.
- European History Primary SouresThis page contains links to primary source collections across Europe.
- EyeWitness to the Middle AgesThis website pulls text from primary sources and displays them in RED text. Note the citations at the bottom of the pages.
- Internet Medieval History SourcebookAll things medieval, from Fordham University. See also their Medieval Islamic section.
- Medieval SourcebooksFordham University displays primary sources by region, time period, and topic. Note that some of the links are dead.
Find primary sources with Google:
In a Google Search, add site:.edu archives OR site:.edu "special collections" with your other search terms to limit google search results to digitized resources from libraries and archives at institutions of higher education. NOTE: you will occasionally find blogs or secondary sources, and not primary sources--if in doubt, visit the library reference desk to ask for help on determining whether a sources is primary.
Citing Primary Sources
- Library of Congress Primary Sources Citation GuideThis guide from the Library of Congress provides helpful citation examples in the Chicago style.