Skip to Main Content

International Business

Search Strategies for Private Companies

Researching private companies is more challenging than public companies, since they are usually not required to file reports with the Securities and Exchange Commission.  Financial information in particular can be tricky, so use the strategies below.

Searching for Private/Small Companies Best Practices:

  • Look at the company directory, which provides basic company information and some may provide estimated revenue.  The company's website may have some helpful information on the About page and can provide some background information.  You can contact the company with questions or even to request a Zoom or phone interview.

  • Database search:  Do a search for the company from the search box on the library home page.  Try searching for the company name in quotation marks (which searches for just the phrase) and without quotation marks, too.

  • Search in the database, ProQuest Business One, which has many company profiles and financials.  Again, search the company name both with and without quotation marks.  This database can also find provide news releases, articles, and other information about your company.

  • Private companies may file some SEC reports,  in which case,  they would need to file Registration Statements (usually S Forms) and sometimes 10-Q Reports.  Search the SEC's Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis, and Retrieval (EDGAR) system.

  • Try a search in either Mergent Intellect or NetAdvantage, accessible through a Hennepin County Library card.  These databases contain private and public business data, consumer data, and industry reports.

    • *Please note these two databases are only accessible through a Hennepin County Library Card. Most Minnesota residents can register their local library card with Hennepin County Library. To register your local library card, Ask Us or go to a Hennepin County library. Exceptions: If your local library is not part of a regional public library system, you are not able to register your card with us. Ineligible libraries include Clarkfield, Crosby, East Grand Forks, Hendricks and Taylors Falls.  If you are not eligible for a library card, you may visit a Hennepin County Library in person and request a guest pass to access the databases at the public library.

  • Try looking at local media sites, social media of the company, or local newspapers.  You can access many newspapers through Regional Business News or US Newsstream.